Admin Sign In 

SOC 164: Our Social World 

Last update: Oct 15th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.hanover.edu/soc164  Print Guide  RSS Updates

SOC 164: Our Social World             Print Page
  
 

About

Course Guides supplement the departmental guides with information and resources specific to the topics covered in your course. Refer to the departmental guides for additional resources in this subject area.

 

Other Guides

 

PantherCAT

Use PantherCAT to locate materials owned by the Duggan Library. Subject searching is most effective when you use standardized Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH).


Do A Subject QuickSearch!

To better understand the basics of using PantherCAT watch this screencast.  Time commitment is six minutes and forty-seven seconds.  Macromedia Flash Player required.

 

WorldCat

Use WorldCat to locate items held by other libraries across the country!

 
 

Additional Reference Sources

In addition to the titles listed in the Reference Resources tab of the main Sociology Guide, the following titles will provide additional information and context. Please check PantherCAT for call numbers.

Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods
American Decades
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Encyclopedia of American Social History
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century
Encyclopedia of Sociology
Gay Histories and Culture
Lesbian Histories and Culture
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood
Girlhood in America
Adolescence in America
Men & Masculinities
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Dictionary of Art
Encyclopedia of Televsion
Magill's Cinema Annual

You may also want to consult our e-reference databases:

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Oxford Reference Online

 

 

PantherCAT Strategies & Library of Congress Subject Headings

Need a detailed list of Library of Congress Subject Headings and Subheadings? It's available here. [PDF file]

Call Number Ranges for the Social Sciences:

    * HM Sociology (general, encyclopedia, etc.)
    * HN1-91 Social History, Social Problems & Reforms
    * HN30-39 Church & Social Problems
    * HN50-981 by Region or Country
    * HQ1101-2030.7 Women, Feminism
    * HQ12-449 Sex
    * HQ450-471 Erotica
    * HQ503-1064 Family, Marriage, Adultery,
    * HS Societies & Clubs; Ethnic, Religious,
    * HT101-395 Urban Sociology
    * HT1501-1595 Race
    * HT401-485 Rural Sociology
    * HT51-65 Human Settlements
    * HT601-14445 Social Classes, Slavery
    * HV40-696 Social Services & Charities
    * HV4961-4995 Degeneration
    * HV4997-5000 Substance Abuse
    * HV5001-5720 Alcohol Abuse
    * HV5725-5770 Tobacco
    * HV5800-5840 Drug Abuse
    * HV6001-7220 Crime
    * HV697-4959 Assistance to Aged, Handicapped, Abused
    * HV7231-9960 Criminal Justice
    * HV8301-9920 Prisons, Punishment
    * HX Socialism, Communism, Anarchy

Searching for other media:

Many of you will be looking for films for your content analysis. Here are some tips to help:

Use the AUTHOR field (lastname, firstname) to search for film directors
Use TITLE to search for film by title
Use SUBJECT to search for works (criticism, etc.) about a film
Use the SUBJECT "feature films" to limit any keyword search to films (not documentaries)
Use a FORMAT limiter to search DVD and VHS (feature films, documentaries, etc.)

 

 

Scholarly Literature

The primary scholarly source for journal articles in Sociology is SocIndex with Full Text, available through the EBSCOhost system.

 

Additional scholarly articles in Sociology can be found in Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, and Project MUSE. Depending on your topic, other subject-specific databases such as PsycINFO and Professional Development Collection (for education) may be of use.

 

Let Us Know!

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait