This is the "Home" page of the "GW 136: Mysticism" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

GW 136: Mysticism  

Last Updated: Aug 22, 2012 URL: http://libguides.hanover.edu/content.php?pid=99579 Print Guide
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Selected Subject Headings

Some suggested subject headings terms for GW136:

Mysticism

Mysticism -- Buddhism

Mysticism -- Comparative Studies

Mysticism -- History

Mysticism in literature

Mystics

Philosophy, Chinese

[name of person]

yin-yang

Cosmology, Chinese

Five agents (Chinese philosophy)

 

Library databases

All are available on the library's A-Z database list, available here.

Ebsco databases
A collection of databases on a wide variety of subjects.  Useful ones for this class include Academic Search Premier, Historical Abstracts, MasterFILE Premier and MLA Bibliography.

Art Full Text
Art publications, with full-text.

Arts & Humanities Search

Grove Art Online
Includes 4 encyclopedias and dictionaries, full-text

JSTOR
Full-text scholarly journals.

Project MUSE
More full-text scholarly journals.

Gale Biography Resource Center
Over 300,000 full-text biographies available.

Oxford Reference Online
collection of over 100 full-text online Reference works


What kind of article are you reading?

Need help deciphering what kind of article you are reading?  Is is peer reviewed?  Scholarly?  A trade journal?  Primary source material?  Read this three page PDF file for information that can help you answer the above questions.

Note Taking

One way to inadvertently avoid plagiarism is to take good notes.  The link below outlines some easy and practical steps for good note taking.

 

Suggested Reference Titles

This list includes the Duggan Library's reference titles that may be useful for GW 119. This list is not comprehensive; for more options consult PantherCAT or a reference librarian.

Death and the Afterlife, A Cultural Encyclopedia      
Refc GT 3150 .T25 2000      

Dictionary of Ancient Deities                                          
Refc BL 473 .T87 2001

Dictionary of Buddhism                                                   
Refc BQ 130 .K46 2003

Dictionary of Hindu Lore and Legend                           
Refc BL 1105 .D35 2002

Encyclopedia of Asian History                                     
Refc DS 31 .E53 1988

Encyclopedia of Buddhism                                               
Refc BQ 128 .E62 2004

Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion      
Refc BL 1005 .L4813 1989

Encyclopedia of Religion                                                  
Refc BL 31 .E46 1987 16 v.

Encyclopedia of Religion and Society                            
Refc BL 60 .E53 1998

Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion               
Refc BL 458 .E53 1999
                                                        

Grove Dictionary of Art                                                    
Refc N 31 .D5 1996 34 v.

Historical Dictionary of Hinduism                                 
Refc BL 1105 .S85 1997

Japan, An Illustrated Encyclopedia                                
Refc DS 805 .J263 1993

Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan                                    
Refc DS 805 .K633 1983

Religions of the World, Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices  
Refc BL 80.3 .R45 2002 4v.

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas                         
Refc CB 9 N49 2005 6v.

Encyclopedia of Christianity                                            
Refc BR 95 E8913 1999 4v.

New Encyclopedia of Islam                                              
Refc BP 40 G42 2001

 

SFX

SFX

Web page explaining SFX (http://library.hanover.edu/sfx.html)
Find out more about SFX database linking technology and how it can help you become more efficient.

SFX instructional screencast (http://library.hanover.edu/podcasts/sfx/duggansfx.html)
Prefer to watch and listen instead of read?  View this brief instructional screencast.
Requires Macromedia Flash Player. 
Time commitment: Six minutes and thirteen seconds.

SFX Citation Linker (http://sfx.palni.edu:9003/sfx_ha/cgi/core/citation-linker.cgi)
Already have a citation?  Go directly to the linker to see if full text is available in one of our databases.

 

Citing Sources Information

Citing Sources instructional screencast
(http://library.hanover.edu/podcasts/citations/citations.html)

Watch this screencast to better understand how to properly cite your sources.

Requires Macromedia Flash Player. 

Time commitment: Three minutes and thirty-eight seconds.

 

Also:  Social Sciences - APA Style 

From Diana Hacker's Rules for Writers, this is a wonderful web-based companion on how to cite and document your sources. This link provides examples of the APA citation style.

Hanover College Websites

Meet Your Guide!

Profile Image
Kelly Joyce
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
Reference and Periodicals Librarian
Duggan Library
812-866-7166
Send Email
What I do in the library:
Interlibrary Loan, Periodicals, Reference, Library Instruction
 

Let Us Know!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Related LibGuide

You may also be interested in the ArtArt History, Research Methods as well as the Rivers LibGuides.

Plagiarism

Don't cheat!  Information, resources, and tools to help you avoid plagiarism. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip