Online full-text "Open Access" journals:
Hanover links of interest:Visual Searching
Evaluating SourcesPlagiarismResearch terminologyScholarly vs. popularTech Tools
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Africana 

Studies encompassing a broad variety of topics on the African continent
Last update: Oct 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.hanover.edu/africana  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Websites             Print Page
  
 

OAIster - Search the Deep Web

Google can't find everything!  OAIster (pronounced "oyster") allows you to search the "deep web" to find documents and more that Google misses.  We've added it to our A-Z list of databases or click here to access directly.  Searching is straightforward and even allows you to limit by format (text, image, etc.)

You can also learn more about OAIster by reading our blog entry here.

As always, you can always ask a librarian if you need additional help.

Recommended Sites

Anthro.net Research Engine (http://home1.gte.net/ericjw1/index.html)
A search engine that is designed to specifically search anthropology (and related subjects) sites on the Internet.

Anthromorphemics: Anthropology Glossary (http://anthropology.tamu.edu/glossaries.htm)
Search the glossary or browse by major divisions (archaeology, cultural or physical anthropology)

Anthropological Index Online (http://aio.anthropology.org.uk/aiosearch/)
A free, searchable, bibliographic database based on the journal holdings of the Anthropology Library at the British Museum.

Anthropology Collections (http://research.calacademy.org/research/anthropology/collections/collintro.htm)
From the California Academy of Sciences permanent research collection, the database contains about 17,000 ethnographic records accompanied by 7,000 digital images. Included among the nineteen categories are baskets, weaponry, watercraft, and carvings. Searches can be limited to images.

ARD-the Anthropological Review Database (http://wings.buffalo.edu/ARD/)
ARD is an ever-growing, free, and fully searchable database of reviews covering the entire gamut of anthropological publications.

Ethnologue (http://www.ethnologue.com/)
Considered the standard directory of languages of the world. Includes information and data on more than 6,700 living languages. A bibliography is also a valuable part of this site.

American Museum of Natural History
Links for scientific publications, their Bulletin, Anthropological Papers and Memoirs.

World Wide Web Virtual Library: Indigenous Studies (http://www.cwis.org/wwwvl/indig-vl.html)
Maintained by the Center for World Indigenous Studies, this site provides an impressive collection of links to sites by and about indigeous nations around the world.

British Museum
Search over 1 million items in the collections database at the British Museum.  Links for their online journals and research publications also available on the site.

Indigenous Peoples
Part of the World Wide Web Virtual Library, this site features extensive links for resources on a variety of indigenous peoples.

Migration Immigration Source
Huge array of statistics and informative articles regarding immigration, refugees and more, from the Migration Policy Institute.

Center for Strategic and International Studies (http://csis.org/)
A nonpartisan organization whose scope is global and whose goal is to produce policy solutions. This site provides a wide variety of information compiled, authored, and published by CSIS. Search by a topical issue, download reports, etc.

Genocide Studies Program (Yale University) (http://www.yale.edu/gsp/)
Provides access to full-text articles and maps dealing with the Holocaust, Cambodia, East Timor, Rwanda, Guatemala, the Sudan, and others.

Global Gateway: World Culture & Resources (http://international.loc.gov/intldl/intldlhome.html)
Gateway to to a growing number of online collections, materials, and repositories representing different cultures from around the world. (According to College & Research Library News.)

Global Policy Forum (http://www.globalpolicy.org/)
An organization whose mission is to monitor UN global policy making, this site's home page provides a dizzying array of graphical links to articles, data, and other resources for people interested in political science and international relations. Using the Site Search feature or accessing the A-Z Index may be the most efficient way to navigate this web site.

Human Rights Watch (http://www.hrw.org/)
Human Rights Watch is an independent, nongovernmental organization. Search for info by country or select a global issue to research.

InfoNation (http://cyberschoolbus.un.org/infonation3/menu/advanced.asp)
Compare statistical data for all UN member states.

International Data Base (http://www.census.gov/ipc/www/idbnew.html)
Produced by the US Census Bureau, this resources provides statistical tables of demographic and socioeconomic data for 227 countries and areas of the world.

International Monetary Fund (http://www.imf.org/external/index.htm)
Information on and from the IMF.

Nations of the World (http://www.loc.gov/law/guide/nations.html)
Links to full texts of laws, regulations, court decisions, and more for the nations of the world.

African Studies Center (University of Pennsylvania (http://www.africa.upenn.edu/Home_Page/Country.html)
A country-by-country listing including background information and links to country-specific resources.

Columbia University's African Studies Internet Resources (http://www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/indiv/africa/cuvl/)
Columbia University is known for being strong in International Relations and Africa specifically.

16th-20th Century Maps of Africa (http://www.library.northwestern.edu/govinfo/collections/mapsofafrica/)
Historic maps of Africa from the Herskovits Library of African Studies at Northwestern University.

A-Z of African Studies on the Internet (http://www.lib.msu.edu/limb/a-z/az.html)
Massive list of online resources for African studies.

Africa Resource Center (http://www.africaresource.com/index.htm)
Includes some full-text scholarly e-journals, data resources, bibliographies, and narratives among other information regarding African issues.

African Studies Center (University of Pennsylvania) (http://www.africa.upenn.edu/Home_Page/Country.html)
A country-by-country listing including background information and links to country-specific resources.

allAfrica.com (http://allafrica.com/)
A content service provider for African news and information, culled from more than 100 media sources on the continent. Also provides separate pages from links on the home page to "Sustainable Africa", "Peace Africa", and "Biztec".

Columbia University's African Studies Internet Resources (http://www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/indiv/africa/cuvl/)
Columbia University is known for being strong in International Relations and Africa specifically.

Islamic History Sourcebook (http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/islam/islamsbook.html)
This site includes links, documents, and images from the Pre-Islamic Arab world to the current. Culture, theology philosophy, and government are some of the included areas of interest. Includes a section on Islamic societies in Sub-Saharan Africa.

PRESA: Pro-poor Rewards for Environmental Services in Africa (http://presa.worldagroforestry.org/)
Articles, working papers, etc. available under the "Tools and Resources" tab. Note that many of these direct you back to the World Agrofestry Centre. PRESA also has a mailing list and news feed.

South African History Online (http://www.sahistory.org.za/pages/index/menu.htm)
For the generalist, offers good background and context for understanding South Africa. For those interested in in-depth research, offers an online library of e-books, articles, speeches, media archives, etc.

 

Meet Your Guide!

Profile ImageKelly Joyce
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Reference and Periodicals Librarian
Duggan Library
812-866-7166
Send Email

What I do in the library:
Interlibrary Loan, Periodicals, Reference, Library Instruction

 

Let Us Know!

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait