Online full-text "Open Access" journals:
Hanover links of interest:Visual Searching
Evaluating SourcesPlagiarismResearch terminologyScholarly vs. popularTech Tools
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Africana 

Studies encompassing a broad variety of topics on the African continent
Last update: Oct 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.hanover.edu/africana  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles             Print Page
  
 

Recommended Databases

SocIndex with Full Text
Abstracts and full-text for research journals in the social sciences. (EBSCO)

Academic Search Premier
Academic and peer-reviewed journals in the social sciences, humanities, general sciences, and education. 1975-present. (EBSCO)

JSTOR
Full-text backfile archive of core scholarly journals. Current issues not available.

Project MUSE
Full-text scholarly journals in literature, history, arts, cultural and gender studies, education and political science.

AnthroSource
American Anthropological Association journals available through 2006 (full-text)

Historical Abstracts
Non-U.S. history covered back to 1450, in full-text articles, dating from 1955 to present.

 

SFX

SFX

Web page explaining SFX (http://library.hanover.edu/sfx.html)
Find out more about SFX database linking technology and how it can help you become more efficient.

SFX instructional screencast (http://library.hanover.edu/podcasts/sfx/duggansfx.html)
Prefer to watch and listen instead of read?  View this brief instructional screencast.
Requires Macromedia Flash Player. 
Time commitment: Six minutes and thirteen seconds.

SFX Citation Linker (http://sfx.palni.edu:9003/sfx_ha/cgi/core/citation-linker.cgi)
Already have a citation?  Go directly to the linker to see if full text is available in one of our databases.

 

Current print and web journals:

Africa

Africa Today

African Affairs

African American Review

African Arts

African Studies Review

American Anthropologist

American Ethnologist

Anthropological Quarterly

Antiquity

Archaeology

Biblical Archaeology Review

Black Scholar

Communal Societies

Comparative Studies of South   Asia, Africa & the Middle East

Cultural Critique

Eastern Africa Social Science Research Review

Ethnohistory

History in Africa

Human Organization

Journal for Early Modern Cultural Studies

Journal of Folklore Research

Journal of Modern African Studies

Journal of the History of Ideas

Language

Multicultural Review

New African

Northeast African Studies

Population Review

Research in African Literatures

Social Science History

Transformation

 

Meet Your Guide!

Profile ImageKelly Joyce
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Reference and Periodicals Librarian
Duggan Library
812-866-7166
Send Email

What I do in the library:
Interlibrary Loan, Periodicals, Reference, Library Instruction

Search and Table of Contents Alerts

Did you know that many of our online databases offer automatic search and journal table of contents alerts? Using either email or an RSS feed on a blog reader, you can subscribe to new content and be notified whenever new articles matching a search string or from a specific journal title are added to the database. The tutorials below will give you more details about these services, which can save you lots of time.

 

Let Us Know!

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait