Online full-text "Open Access" journals:
Hanover links of interest:Visual Searching
Evaluating SourcesPlagiarismResearch terminologyScholarly vs. popularTech Tools
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Africana 

Studies encompassing a broad variety of topics on the African continent
Last update: Oct 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.hanover.edu/africana  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference Resources             Print Page
  
 

Suggested Reference Titles

This list includes the Duggan Library's core reference titles in the field of Africana. This list is not comprehensive; for more options consult PantherCAT or a reference librarian.

Encyclopedia of African History and Culture
REFC DT 3 P27 2005 5v.

Global Studies Africa
REFC DT 30.5 R35 2004

Africana
REFC DT 14 A37435 1999

Encyclopedia of African Nations and Civilizations
REFC DT 14 E43 2002

Encyclopedia of African History
REFC DT 20 E53 2005 3v.

Pan African History
REFC DT 30 A35 2003

Encyclopedia of Africa: South of the Sahara
REFC DT 351 E53 1997 4 v.

Cultural Atlas of Africa
REFC G 2446 E6 C8 1998

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Culture and Daily Life
REFC GN 333 W67 1997  v.1:Africa

 

 

E-Reference

Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries, searchable by subject or keywords. (EBSCO)

Gale Biography Resource Center
Biographical directories, with newspaper and periodicals.

Oxford English Dictionary
The venerable Oxford English Dictionary full-text online

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Over 45 full-text reference works are included in this electronic resource.

Oxford Reference Collection
Over 198 full-text reference works included, on a wide variety of subjects.

 

Reference Podcast

Using the Reference Collection instructional screencast
(http://library.hanover.edu/podcasts/reference/referencecast.html)

Watch this screencast to better understand Duggan Library's reference collection and how reference materials can be valuable to your research.

Requires Macromedia Flash Player. 

Time commitment: Four minutes and forty-six seconds.

 

Meet Your Guide!

Profile ImageKelly Joyce
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Reference and Periodicals Librarian
Duggan Library
812-866-7166
Send Email

What I do in the library:
Interlibrary Loan, Periodicals, Reference, Library Instruction

 

Let Us Know!

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait