Electronic Reference Resources
"The Canon"Archives/Special CollectionsAudiovisual materialsSecondary worksStudent Research
Electronic-Access JournalsHistoric NewspapersPrint JournalsSFX Database Linking
Contribute a Link!Hanover Links of InterestOnline search resourcesVisual Searching
Evaluating SourcesMagazine or JournalPlagiarismResearch Terms
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

African American Studies  Tags: culture minority_experience literature social_change  

Supports interdisciplinary studies of the African American/black experience.
Last update: Sep 28th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.hanover.edu/africanamerican  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Archives/Special Collections             Print Page
  
 

Archives/Special Collections materials

This list includes materials of interest from the Duggan Library's Archives/Special Collections. This list is not comprehensive -- in part because a number of archives and special collections materials remain to be cataloged. To ensure that you don't overlook works of potential importance to your research, visit the Archives and our Archivist and Curator of Rare Books, Doug Denne, will be happy to help.

Captain Canot: Or, Twenty Years of an African Slaver. (1855)
Canot, Theodore, 1804-1860.
SPB 65

Dred : a tale of the great Dismal Swamp. (1856)
Stowe, Harriet Beecher, 1811-1896
By request

Indiana Negro registers, 1852-1865. (1994)
Robbins, Coy D.
By request

Ordeal of the Union (1947)
Nevins, Allan, 1890-1971
By request

Presbyterians and the Negro: A history. (1966)
Murray, Andrew E.
Special Collections BX8946.N4 M8

Reminiscences of Levi Coffin, the reputed president of the underground railroad : being a brief history of the labors of a lifetime in behalf of the slave, with the stories of numerous fugitives, who gained their freedom through his instrumentality, and many other incidents. (1876)
Coffin, Levi, 1798-1877
By request

Recollections of a busy life: including reminiscences of American politics and politicians, from the opening of the Missouri contest to the downfall of slavery; to which are added miscellanies ... also, a discussion with Robert Dale Owen of the law of divorce. (1868)
Greeley, Horace, 1811-1872
By request

Also consider visiting the PALNI Digital Collections website. (PALNI is a group of Indiana college libraries, including Hanover.) It includes digitized photographs, searchable by a variety of fields. Hanover College currently has almost 400 of its historic images in the database, and more will be added soon.

 

Meet Your Guide!

Profile ImageDouglas Denne
Contact Info:
Archivist and Curator of Rare Books
Rivers Institute Collection Librarian
Duggan Library
812-866-7181
denne@hanover.edu

Subjects:
African American Studies, Biochemistry, Biology, Environmental Science, Exercise Science, Geology, History, and Theological Studies

 

Let Us Know!

Please give us your input and suggestions to improve this site.

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait