Recommended Sites
American Memory from the Library of Congress (http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/index.html)
Library of Congress materials, organized by topic (architecture, landscape; women's history; technology, industry; etc.)
Berea College Sound Archives (http://www.berea.edu/hutchinslibrary/specialcollections/specialsound.asp)
Includes audio and some video of folk music and, to a lesser extent, oral histories from the Appalachian region.
Birmingham Civil Rights Institute Online Resource Gallery (http://www.bcri.org/tracks/research_resources/online_resource_gallery.htm)
View partial transcripts of oral history interviews with leaders of and participants in the Civil Rights movement in Birmingham, Alabama.
The Black Renaissance in Washington, D.C., 1920-1930s (http://029c28c.netsolhost.com/blkren/)
Includes a timeline, biographies, and bibliographies (print and online) of related materials.
Electronic Oberlin Group (http://www.oberlin.edu/external/EOG/)
Local history site for Oberlin, OH, a major locus of abolitionist activity and an important stop on the Underground Railroad. The college at Oberlin was also the first to adopt a policy of "race-blind" admissions and matriculated and graduated the first African-American female college student.
Guide to the Web: Sonja Haynes Stone Center for Black Culture and History (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill) (http://www.lib.unc.edu/stone/webguide/index.html)
Web resources, sorted by discipline and then by topic. Incredibly thorough coverage.
Historic Eleutherian College (http://www.eleutherian.us/)
Information on a site of regional importance in the Underground Railroad. Also includes a valuable links section.
Hiphop Archive (Harvard University) (http://hiphoparchive.org/)
Site is largely still under development (as of Oct. 2008), but includes a few articles dealing with hiphop and social issues.
Indiana Historical Society (http://www.indianahistory.org/)
Contains educational resources, exhibits, collections, local history information, and more.
Indiana Memory (http://www.in.gov/memories/)
"Indiana Memory, the Indiana digital library, is a collaboration of
Indiana libraries, museums, archives, and related cultural
organizations to enable access to Indiana's unique cultural and
historical heritage through a variety of digital formats and free
distribution over the Internet." Includes historic photographs,
documents, etc.
Kentuckiana Digital Library (http://kdl.kyvl.org/)
Serves as a portal for digitized collections in Kentucky archives. Includes maps, manuscripts, oral histories, finding aids, images, books, newspapers, and journals.
National Underground Railroad Freedom Center (http://www.freedomcenter.org/)
Website of the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center in Cincinnati, Ohio.
National Underground Railroad Freedom Center Digital Images (http://dmc.ohiolink.edu/cgi/i/image/image-idx?page=index;c=nurfc)
"A collection of documents related to slavery, abolition, and emancipation. The collection includes abolitionist broadsheets, photographs by Matthew Brady, letters and speeches of President Lincoln and other presidents, and other historic letters, documents, and pictures." Publicly available through OhioLINK.
Ohio Historical Society (http://www.ohiohistory.org/index.html)
The website for the Ohio Historical Society includes a number of resources, including research tools, exhibits, and museums and historic sites in Ohio.
Ohio Memory Online Scrapbook (http://www.ohiomemory.org/)
Provides access to a wealth of "primary sources from archives, historical societies, libraries, and museums that document Ohio's past from prehistory through 1903."
Portrait of Black Chicago (National Archives) (http://www.archives.gov/exhibits/portrait_of_black_chicago/introduction.html)
Photoessay by Pulitzer recipient John White. Photographs taken during the early 1970s.
Riverboats and Jazz: An Online Exhibit (Tulane University) (http://www.tulane.edu/~lmiller/raeburn/rivboatintro.htm)
Online exhibit from Tulane University's Special Collections.
Slavery & Abolition in the US (http://deila.dickinson.edu/slaveryandabolition/)
Online full-text archive of select historic texts relating to slavery and abolition in the US. Made available by Millersville University and Dickenson College.
Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade (http://www.slavevoyages.org/tast/index.faces)
Incredibly ambitious database of app. 35,000 slave voyages forcibly transporting over 10 million Africans between the 16th and 19th centuries. Includes maps, essays, information on voyages, information on escapees, timelines, and more. Supported by universities from the US, UK, and New Zealand, as well as by the National Endowment for the Humanities.
Tuskegee Airmen (http://www.tuskegee.edu/Global/category.asp?C=47519)
Information from Tuskegee University on the Tuskegee Airmen, including America's first black aviators.
Uncle Tom's Cabin and American Culture (http://www.iath.virginia.edu/utc/)
Includes access to primary sources and interpretive essays on Uncle Tom's Cabin and American Culture, including toys, advertisements, and the performing arts.
University of Louisville Digital Collections (http://digital.library.louisville.edu/)
Searchable digital archive including photos, maps, and textual materials.
Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War (http://valley.vcdh.virginia.edu/)
Digital archive telling the history of two towns, one in the North and one in the South, during the American Civil War.
A quick and handy Google search box in case one of the above links doesn't do it for you.
Meet Your Guide! |
Douglas DenneArchivist and Curator of Rare Books
Rivers Institute Collection Librarian
Duggan Library
812-866-7181
denne@hanover.edu
Subjects:
African American Studies, Biochemistry, Biology, Environmental Science, Exercise Science, Geology, History, and Theological Studies
Let Us Know!
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait