Electronic Reference Resources
"The Canon"Archives/Special CollectionsAudiovisual materialsSecondary worksStudent Research
Electronic-Access JournalsHistoric NewspapersPrint JournalsSFX Database Linking
Contribute a Link!Hanover Links of InterestOnline search resourcesVisual Searching
Evaluating SourcesMagazine or JournalPlagiarismResearch Terms
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

African American Studies  Tags: culture minority_experience literature social_change  

Supports interdisciplinary studies of the African American/black experience.
Last update: Sep 28th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.hanover.edu/africanamerican  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference Resources             Print Page
  
 

Suggested Reference Titles

This list includes select reference titles related to African American Studies. This list is not comprehensive; for more options consult PantherCAT or a reference librarian.

African American Writers
REFC PS153.N5 A344 2001

African Americans at War: An Encyclopedia
REFC U52 .S88 2004

Biographical Encyclopedia of the Negro Baseball Leagues
REFC GV865.A1 R473 2002

Black Literature Criticism
REFC PS153.N5B556 1992

Black Talk: Words and Phrases from the Hood to the Amen Corner
REFC PE3102.N4 S65 2000

Civil Rights in the United States
REFC E184.A1 C47 2000

Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
REFC E185 .E54 1996

Encyclopedia of African-American Religions
REFC BR563.N4 E53 1993

Encyclopedia of Racism in the United States
REFC E184.A1 E773 2005

Harlem Renaissance and Beyond: Literary Biographies of 100 Black Women Writers, 1900-1945 /
REFC PS153.N5 R65 1990

International Dictionary of Black Composers
REFC ML105 .I5 1999

Masterplots II: African American Literature Series
REFC PS153.N5 M2645 1994

On the Trail of the Buffalo Soldier: Biographies of African Americans in the U.S. Army, 1866-1917
REFC U52 .O5 1995

The Oxford Companion to African American Literature
REFC PS153.N5 O96 1997

St. James Guide to Black Artists
REFC N40 .S78 1997

 

 

Meet Your Guide!

Profile ImageDouglas Denne
Contact Info:
Archivist and Curator of Rare Books
Rivers Institute Collection Librarian
Duggan Library
812-866-7181
denne@hanover.edu

Subjects:
African American Studies, Biochemistry, Biology, Environmental Science, Exercise Science, Geology, History, and Theological Studies

 

Let Us Know!

Please give us your input and suggestions to improve this site.

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait