This is the "PHI 226: Medieval Philosophy" page of the "PHI 226: Medieval Philosophy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PHI 226: Medieval Philosophy   Tags: course, philosophy  

Medieval Philosophy (Ahrens)
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2012 URL: http://libguides.hanover.edu/phi226 Print Guide
PHI 226: Medieval Philosophy Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About

Course Guides supplement the departmental guides with information and resources specific to the topics covered in your course. Refer to the departmental guides for additional resources in this subject area.

 

Other Guides

 

PantherCAT

Use PantherCAT to locate materials owned by the Duggan Library. Subject searching is most effective when you use standardized Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH).


Do A Subject QuickSearch!

 

Additional Reference Sources

In addition to the titles listed in the Reference Resources tab of the main Philosophy Guide, the following titles specific to the Middle Ages will provide additional information and context about the time.

Dictionary of the Middle Ages
REFC D114 D5 1982

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
REFC D114 E535 2000

Medieval England: an encyclopedia
REFC DA129 M43 1998

Medieval France: an encyclopedia
REFC DC33.2 M44 1995

Illustrated Encyclopedia of Medieval Civilization
REFC CB353 .G7 1980

Women in the Middle Ages: an encyclopedia
REFC PN669 E53 2000

 

Library of Congress Subject Headings

The following Library of Congress Subject Headings may be used when searching PantherCAT, WorldCat, or other library catalogs:

Civilization - Medieval
Middle Ages
Philosophers, Medieval
Philosophy, Medieval
Scholars, Medieval

You may also subdivide other subject headings by time period, as in the following examples:

Biography - Middle Ages
Europe - history - 476-1492

And don't forget that you can do a subject search on your chosen philosopher by name:

Abelard, Peter (lastname, firstname)
Boethius

 

Scholarly Literature

The primary scholarly source for journal articles in Philosophy is the Philosopher's Index, available through the EBSCOhost system.

In Philosopher's Index, the approved subject heading for the time period is "Medieval." You may combine "Medieval" as a subject in combination with other subject headings of your choice to narrow your results to articles with a focus on that time period, as in this example:

If searching for an individual philosopher as the subject of an article, be sure to use the "People as Subjects" search field, as in the following example:

Please note that Philosopher's Index is a citation/abstract index only, and does not include the full-text of articles. Some full-text linking to other databases within the EBSCOhost system may be provided, but you will need to rely on the SFX tool to track down access to full-text of the article (whether electronic or in print).

Additional scholarly articles in Philosophy can be found in Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, and Project MUSE.

 

Preparing a Bibliography

You've been asked to prepare an annotated bibliography for this course. The "Annotated Bibliographies" document is available for reading online, or for download, and will give you guidance on how to prepare annotations for your assignment.

Meet Your Guide!

Profile Image
Heather Loehr
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
loehr@hanover.edu
Coordinator of Information Services
Duggan Library
1-812-866-7170
What I do in the library::
Reference, Instruction, Electronic Resources, Systems Admin, Webmaster!
I'm currently reading::
How to Be a Woman by Caitlin Moran
 

Let Us Know!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip