Online full-text "open access" journals:SFX Database Linking
Hanover links of interest:Visual Searching
Tech Tools
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Medieval-Renaissance Studies 

Last update: Oct 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.hanover.edu/medieval-renaissance  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Websites             Print Page
  
 

OAIster - Search the Deep Web

Google can't find everything!  OAIster (pronounced "oyster") allows you to search the "deep web" to find documents and more that Google misses.  We've added it to our A-Z list of databases or click here to access directly.  Searching is straightforward and even allows you to limit by format (text, image, etc.)

You can also learn more about OAIster by reading our blog entry here.

As always, you can always ask a librarian if you need additional help.

Recommended Sites

EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe (http://www.lib.byu.edu/~rdh/eurodocs/)
Access to primary historical documents that have been either transcribed, translated, or reporduced in facsimile. Items are listed in chronological order. Browse content via individual country links.

Hanover Historical Text Project (http://history.hanover.edu/project.html)
Courtesy of our very own Hanover History Department and Hanover students is this page devoted to primary texts. Particularly useful for those in humanities and history courses.

Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe (http://library.byu.edu/~rdh/eurodocs/)
Links to mainly primary documents that have been transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.

Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse (http://www.hti.umich.edu/c/cme/)
Sixty-one Middle English texts used in the Middle English Dictionary

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index (http://www.haverford.edu/library/reference/mschaus/mfi/mfi.html)
This web-based resource (index only) offers access to journal articles, book reviews, and essays about women, sexuality and gender during the Middle Ages. The database does not include single-authored books. When the contribution is available online a link is provided. Currently, more than 8,000 records in English, German, and French, from 1992 to the present, are included.

Internet Medieval Sourcebook (http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/sbook.html)
Provided by Fordham University, this is a well-known Medieval Studies site. Access full text and other info by country, era, or specific aspects such as Sex & Gender.

Labyrinth: Resources in Medieval Studies (http://labyrinth.georgetown.edu)
Browse or search by catagories (from Armor to Magic and Alchemy, among others) to Medieval Studies web links.

New Chaucer Society (http://artsci.wustl.edu/~chaucer/)
Provides great links to other Chaucer and Medieval studies Internet sites as well as an online Chaucer Bibliography.

Online Medieval and Classical Library (http://sunsite.berkeley.edu/OMACL/)
Another quality site providing online access to important texts from the Medieval/Classical eras. Saga, Epic, and Romance materials in a number of languages (Greek, Latin, Anglo-Saxon, among others.)

ORB: The Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies (http://the-orb.net)
An impressive site that is full of content, from the encyclopedia containing essays (arranged topically) to the textbook library (copyrighted material by scholar-teachers but made available for classroom use. Bibliographies are also a main staple of this site, as are translatations of primary sources.

TEAMS Middle English Texts (http://www.lib.rochester.edu/camelot/teams//tmsmenu.htm)
Offers web access to around 300 (and growing) texts of Middle English literature. An outstanding site to texts not readily availble in printed student editions.

Arthurian Legend (http://www.arthurian-legend.com/)
This site is primarily focused on the English romance, Sir Thomas Malory's Le Morte d'Arthur. Resources include artwork, text summaries, character analyses, and an Arthurian search engine created by the web site's author.

Arthurian Resources (http://www.arthuriana.co.uk/)
This site, created by Thomas Green deals with the Arthur of history, especially Celtic and Welsh.

Chaucer Bibliography Online (http://uchaucer.utsa.edu/cgi-bin/Pwebrecon.cgi?DB=local&PAGE=First)
Includes Chaucer studies from 1975 to present and searchable citation index.

 

 

Meet Your Guide!

Profile ImageKelly Joyce
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Reference and Periodicals Librarian
Duggan Library
812-866-7166
Send Email

What I do in the library:
Interlibrary Loan, Periodicals, Reference, Library Instruction

 

Let Us Know!

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait