Recommended Databases
ABSEES
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies.
America:
History and Life
Index to publications in American history. (EBSCO)
Early
American Imprints (Evans Digital Collection)
Facsimile images of early American printed materials, 1639-1800.
Early English Books Online
Facsimile images of over 125,000 early English books.
Gale Biography
Resource Center
Biographical directories, with newspaper and periodicals.
HAPI
Hispanic American Periodicals Index Online. Information about Central
and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico
border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
Historical
Abstracts
Index to scholarly journal articles and other publications in history.
(EBSCO)
Iter
Bibliography of articles and reviews from medieval and renaissance
journal titles.
Milestone Documents in
American History
Full-text of primary source documents in American History, with
expert analysis and commentary.
Academic
Search Premier
Academic and peer-reviewed journals in the social sciences, humanities,
general sciences, and education. 1975-present. (EBSCO)
JSTOR
Full-text backfile archive of core scholarly journals. Current issues
not available.
Project
MUSE
Full-text scholarly journals in literature, history, arts, cultural
and gender studies, education and political science.
Current print and web periodicals:
Renaissance Quarterly
Renaissance and Reformation
Essays in medieval studies :proceedings of the Illinois Medieval Association
for additional titles, please see History Dept.
Meet Your Guide! |
Kelly Joyce![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Periodicals Librarian
Duggan Library
812-866-7166
Send Email
What I do in the library:
Interlibrary Loan, Periodicals, Reference, Library Instruction
Search and Table of Contents Alerts
Did you know that many of our online databases offer automatic search and journal table of contents alerts? Using either email or an RSS feed on a blog reader, you can subscribe to new content and be notified whenever new articles matching a search string or from a specific journal title are added to the database. The tutorials below will give you more details about these services, which can save you lots of time.
- Duggan Library Instructional Screencasts: RSS Basics (Flash Movie)
Learn about RSS: what it is, why you want to use it, and how to set up a reader. This tutorial, which is 6 minutes long, also describes the process of adding feeds from the New York Times and EBSCOhost searches. - EBSCO Training: Set up Search and Journal Alerts (Flash Movie)
This tutorial, created by EBSCOhost, describes how to set up email alerts for searches and journal tables of contents in all EBSCO databases. - EBSCO Training: Set up Search and Journal Alerts (download: Powerpoint)
This powerpoint slide presentation compliments the flash movie linked above and can be downloaded and printed for easy reference.
Let Us Know!
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait