Online full-text "open access" journals"SFX Database Linking
Hanover links of interest:Visual Searching
Tech Tools
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Physics/Astronomy 

Last update: Oct 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.hanover.edu/physics  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Websites             Print Page
  
 

OAIster - Search the Deep Web

Google can't find everything!  OAIster (pronounced "oyster") allows you to search the "deep web" to find documents and more that Google misses.  We've added it to our A-Z list of databases or click here to access directly.  Searching is straightforward and even allows you to limit by format (text, image, etc.)

You can also learn more about OAIster by reading our blog entry here.

As always, you can always ask a librarian if you need additional help.

Recommended Sites

Hyperphysics (http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/hph.html)
Developed and maintained by a professor at Georgia State University, this site offers information and exercises of interest to an undergraduate population - this is a hypertext equivalent to an introductory physics text.

Martindale's The Virtual Physics Center (http://www.martindalecenter.com/GradPhysics.html)
A Physics meta site that includes links to calculators, dictionaries, periodic tables, specialized databases, and more.

Physics Central (http://www.physicscentral.com)
The American Physical Society site, not much to offer except the annotated web links to sites rated by level (beginner, general, or advanced).

Physics Internet Resources (http://www.aps.org)
Maintained by the American Physics Society, this site is a clearinghouse to other Internet sites that provide content.

PhysicsWeb (http://physicsweb.org/resources/home)
The Resources page from the Institue of Physics website offers links to interactive experiments, exercises, data and constants, physical laws, and more.

PhysLink (http://www.physlink.com/)
Easily navigable site with particularly useful tabs to Education and Reference.

Astronomical World Wide Web Resources (http://www.stsci.edu/resources/)
From the Space Telescope Science Institute comes this long alphabetical listing of links (by site title) related to astronomy.

SEDS: Students for the Exploration and Development of Space (http://www.seds.org/)
An organization web site, links are provided to constellation, lunar, solar system, and other resources.

SIMBAD Astronomical Database (http://simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad)
This database provides basic data, cross-identifications, and bibliography for astronomical objects outside the solar system, and can be queried by object name, coordinates, other criteria (filters), and lists of objects. Familiarity with astronomical nomenclature is helpful.

Sloan Digital Sky Survey (http://skyserver.sdss.org/dr1/en/)
Access to the Skyserver database allowing access to over 80 million objects (stars, quasars, galaxies) in addition to lessons and challenges appropriate from grade school up to college-level work.

Views of the Solar System (http://www.solarviews.com/eng/homepage.htm)
Data and images of planets, meteors, and comets. Includes space exploration history and other value-added internal links.

Cosmic Evolution (http://www.tufts.edu/as/wright_center/cosmic_evolution/)
Explores the Universe from the "Big Bang to Humankind", examing matters in all forms over time.

Global Change Master Directory (http://gcmd.gsfc.nasa.gov/)
From the Godard Space Flight Center, a huge assorted of resources, on subjects ranging from the biosphere to paleoclimate to sun-earth interactions.

Intute  (http://www.intute.ac.uk/sciences/)
Some of the best Web resources, evaluated by subject scholars, featuring sections on both astronomy and physics.

Planetary Data System (http://pds.jpl.nasa.gov/)
This terrific site "archives and distributes scientific data from NASA planetary missions, astronomical observations, and laboratory measurements."  Can look at individual planets, asteroids, comets and more.

Physics Zone (http://www.sciencejoywagon.com/physicszone/)
Features tutorials for introductory level physics (if you need a little help), organized by sub-topics.

Browse Topcs: Your Pathway to Government Information (http://www.browsetopics.gov)
A portal to government information, containing information on physics and nuclear power, energy and aviation.  Infromation on Earth Sciences available under Environment tab.

 

Meet Your Guide!

Profile ImageKelly Joyce
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Reference and Periodicals Librarian
Duggan Library
812-866-7166
Send Email

What I do in the library:
Interlibrary Loan, Periodicals, Reference, Library Instruction

 

Let Us Know!

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait