Online full-text "open access" journals"SFX Database Linking
Hanover links of interest:Visual Searching
Tech Tools
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Physics/Astronomy 

Last update: Oct 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.hanover.edu/physics  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference Resources             Print Page
  
 

Suggested Reference Titles

This list includes the Duggan Library's core reference titles in the field of Physics/Astronomy. This list is not comprehensive; for more options consult PantherCAT or a reference librarian.

Physics:

A dictionary of physics
REFC QC 5.C56 2000

Macmillan encyclopedia of physics
REFC QC 5.M15 1996

McGraw-Hill dictionary of physics and mathematics
REFC QC 5.M23

CRC handbook of chemistry and physics
REFC QD 65.H3

A dictionary of named effects and laws in chemistry, physics and mathematics
REFC Q 123.B3 1970

Astronomy:

Encyclopedia of astronomy and astrophysics
REFC QB 14.E534 2001

The Facts on file dictionary of astronomy
REFC QB 14.F3 1994

The Astronomy and astrophysics encyclopedia
REFC QB 14.A873 1991

The encyclopedia of atmospheric sciences and astrogeology
REFC QC 854.F34

A dictionary of named effects and laws in chemistry, physics and mathematics
REFC Q 123.B3 1970

 

 

E-Reference

Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries, searchable by subject or keywords. (EBSCO)

Gale Biography Resource Center
Biographical directories, with newspaper and periodicals.

Oxford English Dictionary
The venerable Oxford English Dictionary full-text online.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Over 45 full-text reference works are included in this electronic resource.

Access Science
Online McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.  Great for definitions of terms and processes.

Oxford Reference Collection
Over 198 full-text reference works included, on a wide variety of subjects.

 

Reference Podcast

Using the Reference Collection instructional screencast
(http://library.hanover.edu/podcasts/reference/referencecast.html)

Watch this screencast to better understand Duggan Library's reference collection and how reference materials can be valuable to your research.

Requires Macromedia Flash Player. 

Time commitment: Four minutes and forty-six seconds.

 

Meet Your Guide!

Profile ImageKelly Joyce
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Reference and Periodicals Librarian
Duggan Library
812-866-7166
Send Email

What I do in the library:
Interlibrary Loan, Periodicals, Reference, Library Instruction

 

Let Us Know!

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait