Online full-text "open access" journals:SFX Database Linking
Hanover links of interest:Visual Searching
Evaluating sourcesPlagiarismResearch terminologyScholarly vs popularTech Tools
SOC 164 SOC 259 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Sociology 

Last update: Oct 15th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.hanover.edu/sociology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Websites             Print Page
  
 

OAIster - Search the Deep Web

Google can't find everything!  OAIster (pronounced "oyster") allows you to search the "deep web" to find documents and more that Google misses.  We've added it to our A-Z list of databases or click here to access directly.  Searching is straightforward and even allows you to limit by format (text, image, etc.)

You can also learn more about OAIster by reading our blog entry here.

As always, you can always ask a librarian if you need additional help.

Recommended Sites

National Criminal Justice Reference System (http://www.ncjrs.org/)
Search the criminal justice abstracts database, full text publications, and relevant statistics.

Online Dictionary of the Social Sciences (http://bitbucket.icaap.org/)
1000 entries covering the disciplines of sociology, criminology, political science and women's study.

Public Agenda Online (http://www.publicagenda.org/)
Nonpartisan research studies and public agenda issue guides are available from this web site.

Social Policy Virtual Library (http://staff.bath.ac.uk/hsstp/world3-menu.htm)
Find social policy links to data sources, organizations, libraries, publications and more. International in scope.

Social Research Update (http://www.soc.surrey.ac.uk/sru/About_sru.html)
From the University of Surrey in the U.K., this site provides access to the quartely published, "Social Research Update". Each issue focuses on a specific topic of interest. Examples include: Using Diaries in Social Research; Ethnographic Writing; Paying Respondents and Informants; and Secondary Analysis of Qualitative Data, to name but a few.

Social Science Information Gateway: Social Welfare
(http://www.sosig.ac.uk/roads/subject-listing/World/socwel.html)
Although many of this site's links lean toward those specific to the United Kingdom, it also provides many substantial links that are appropriate for anyone studying sociology. Sub-sections include homelessness, minorities, families, and poverty among others. Related sections are also provided, such social welfare law, social policy, criminal justice, and others.

Sociological Tour Through Cyberspace (http://www.trinity.edu/~mkearl/index.html)
Providing an excellent set of links across many aspects of sociology, this site serves as a fine gateway to the discipline, particularly for students. Sections covered include Marriage and Family Life, Gender and Society, Demography, Social Gerontology, and more.

SocioSite (http://www2.fmg.uva.nl/sociosite/)
Based at the University of Amsterdam the main focus of this site is to provide access to the European and, to a lesser degree, worldwide scene of academic sociology. Twenty-four major categories are provided for ease of browsing With so many external links, the quality varies, but overall is nonetheless impressive in its comprehensiveness.

Childstats.gov
Valuable statistics regarding children and their welfare, compiled and analyzed annually by a federal interagency forum.

Browse Topics: Your Pathway to Government Information (http://www.browsetopics.gov/)
A variety of sociology-related pages are avaible through this portal.

ePodunk (http://epodunk.com)
Detailed, easily browsable profiles of cities and counties across the U.S. including data on airports, cemeteries, museums, and other institutions as well. Profiles include historical postcard images from the Making of America project and all imaginable statistics at the city and county level. Not only does the site link to useful municipal/county government and chamber of commerce sites, but it also displays or links to harder-to-find information like local media outlets, community organizations, political reports, historical weather information, support for libraries, a “gay index” based on the Gay and Lesbian Atlas, films shot in the area, and celebrity residents.

 

Meet Your Guide!

Profile ImageKelly Joyce
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Reference and Periodicals Librarian
Duggan Library
812-866-7166
Send Email

What I do in the library:
Interlibrary Loan, Periodicals, Reference, Library Instruction

 

Let Us Know!

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait