Online full-text "open access" journals:SFX Database Linking
Hanover links of interest:Visual Searching
Evaluating sourcesPlagiarismResearch terminologyScholarly vs popularTech Tools
SOC 164 SOC 259 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Sociology 

Last update: Oct 15th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.hanover.edu/sociology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference Resources             Print Page
  
 

Suggested Reference Titles

This list includes the Duggan Library's core reference titles in the field of Sociology. This list is not comprehensive; for more options consult PantherCAT or a reference librarian.

Encyclopedia of social theory
REFC HM 425.E47 2005

Encyclopedia of sociology
REFC HM 425.E5 2000

Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
REFC GN307 .E525 1996

A Dictionary of sociology
REFC HM 17.M56 1968b

Survey of social science
REFC HM 17.S86 1994

Sage encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods
REFC H 62 S34 2004

 

E-Reference

Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries, searchable by subject or keywords. (EBSCO)

Gale Biography Resource Center
Biographical directories, with newspaper and periodicals.

Oxford English Dictionary
The venerable Oxford English Dictionary full-text online.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Over 45 full-text reference works are included in this electronic resource.

Oxford Reference Collection
Over 198 full-text reference works included, on a wide variety of subjects.

 

Reference Podcast

Using the Reference Collection instructional screencast
(http://library.hanover.edu/podcasts/reference/referencecast.html)

Watch this screencast to better understand Duggan Library's reference collection and how reference materials can be valuable to your research.

Requires Macromedia Flash Player. 

Time commitment: Four minutes and forty-six seconds.

 

Meet Your Guide!

Profile ImageKelly Joyce
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Reference and Periodicals Librarian
Duggan Library
812-866-7166
Send Email

What I do in the library:
Interlibrary Loan, Periodicals, Reference, Library Instruction

 

Let Us Know!

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait