OAIster - Search the Deep Web
Google can't find everything! OAIster (pronounced "oyster") allows you to search the "deep web" to find documents and more that Google misses. We've added it to our A-Z list of databases or click here to access directly. Searching is straightforward and even allows you to limit by format (text, image, etc.)
You can also learn more about OAIster by reading our blog entry here.
As always, you can always ask a librarian if you need additional help.
Recommended Sites
About Teaching & the First Year (http://www.ed.gov/teachers/become/about/edpicks.jhtml?src=ln)
From the U.S. Dept of Education site, there are two links in particular that student-teachers may find useful: "Survival Guide for New Teachers" and "What to Expect Your First Year".
Beginning Teacher's Toolbox (http://www.inspiringteachers.com/)
Links to information, tips, and resources, for student teachers and new teachers.
Best of History Web Sites (http://www.besthistorysites.net/)
A portal to more than 700 of the best history-related web sites. Also links to lesson plans and activities.
Educator’s Reference Desk(http://www.eduref.org/index.shtml)
More than 2,000 lesson plans and 3,000 links to online education information.
Eisenhower National Clearinghouse for Mathematics and Science Education (http://www.goENC.com/)
A k-12 math and science teacher center funded by the US Department of Education.
EROD: Education Resource Organizations Directory (http://wdcrobcolp01.ed.gov/Programs/EROD/)
A directory providing various state and regional organization contacts that provide information and assistance on a broad range of education-related topics such as Parent Resource Centers and State Directors of Special Education.
Gateway to Educational Materials (http://www.thegateway.org)
A meta-index site to thousands of quality educational resources. History/Social Studies Web Site for K-12 Teachers http://my.execpc.com/~dboals/boals.html Terrific site to other sites covering the discipline of History. Not just for K-12 teachers!
International Children’s Digital Library (http://www.icdlbooks.org/)
This site provides free access to more than 500 digitized children’s books from around the world. Eventually, more than 10,000 titles are planned. Search by author, title, and language among the various search fields made available. Some books are available as graphic files while others require Adobe Acrobat.
LD Online (http://www.ldonline.org/)
This site, focusing on Learning Disabilities, has much to offer teachers, student-teachers, as well as students who are afflicted with a learning disability. LD Online provides an excellent balance of research, techniques, news, and informative articles.
National Center for Educational Statistics (http://www.nces.ed.gov/)
Educational studies, surveys, publications, and other statistical data are available for download
National Science Digital Library (http://nsdl.org)
Funded by the National Science Foundation, search, or browse collections for educational resources in science, technology, and mathematics.
PBS Teachersource (http://www.pbs.org/teachersource/)
PBS offers this quality curriculum resource for teachers and educators. More than 4,000 free lesson plans and activities are available with active links to detailed information to fulfill the lesson, including links to standards. Lesson plans are divided by grades and topics.
School Psychology Resources Online (http://www.schoolpsychology.net/)
The heart of this site is divided into two areas: Specific Conditions, Disorders, Disabilities and Other Information. In the first area, there are authoratative links to sites with information on a host of conditions such as anxiety disorders, attention deficit, eating disorders, substance abuse, etc. The second area covers broad topics such as adolescence, brochures and pamphlets, violence & terrorism, and the like. A well-designed, easy to navigate site on an area in education that is just as important as academic content.
Science NetLinks (http://www.sciencenetlinks.com/)
Terrific science site for K-12 teachers and students. Neatly arranged and cross-referenced Lessons, Tools, Resources, and Benchmarks (established by the American Association for the Advancement of Science).
The Annenberg Institute for School Reform (http://www.annenberginstitute.org/)
The Annenberg Institute for School Reform develops, shares, and acts on knowledge that improves the conditions and outcomes of schooling for all students, especially in America's urban communities.
National Center for Learning Disabilities (http://www.ncld.org/)
The National Center for Learning Disabilities toils away to make sure that all children, teens and adults with learning disabilities succeed in education. Many goodies await one on this site, for instance the area titled: For Educators is a terrific resource for teachers of ADHD students. Info zone is another good place to start for information that pertains to educators with various links. The top tool bars break down different grades in schools so that educators and parents can look at information geared toward them. Furthermore, LD Essentials is a free online newsletter they offer under Online Publications, which can offer advice for teachers of ADHD students.
Learning Disabilities Association of America (http://www.ldaamerica.org/)
The Learning Disabilities Association of America is available for a variety of people and members of society with learning disabilities. Parents, educators, adults, students and researchers are encouraged by this organization. Especially helpful is the section on attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder, which addresses the needs of teachers that teach these types of students. It includes strategies and then an additional link for teachers. Within this link is available information on accommodations, aids and techniques for learning.
Child Care & Early Education Research Connections (http://www.childcareresearch.org/discover/index.jsp)
A joint venture between major universities and governmental bodies (such as the Dept. of Health and Human Services), it includes datasets available for downloading as well as research publications and is updated weekly.
Solution Site (http://thesolutionsite.com/)
K-12 lesson plans
Childstats.gov
Valuable statistics regarding children and their welfare, compiled and analyzed annually by a federal interagency forum.
Everything International (http://faculty.philau.edu/russowl/russow.html)
Provides links for international sites. Click on the Education link at top.
Literacy Web (http://www.literacy.uconn.edu/)
From the University of Connecticut, this site features literacy resources for K-12, ESL and adult education.
Measuring Up (http://measuringup.highereducation.org/)
The National Report Card on Higher Education includes "report cards" for all US states, comparisons across categories and access to previous reports.
Browse Topics - Your Pathway to Government Information
Federal statistics and information on all facets of education pulled together in one place.
Meet Your Guide! |
Kelly Joyce![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Periodicals Librarian
Duggan Library
812-866-7166
Send Email
What I do in the library:
Interlibrary Loan, Periodicals, Reference, Library Instruction
Let Us Know!
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait