Online full-text "Open Access" journals:SFX Database Linking
Hanover links of interest:Visual Searching
Evaluating sourcesPlagiarismResearch terminologyScholary or popular?Tech Tools
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Communication 

Last update: Oct 06th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.hanover.edu/communication  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Websites             Print Page
  
 

OAIster - Search the Deep Web

Google can't find everything!  OAIster (pronounced "oyster") allows you to search the "deep web" to find documents and more that Google misses.  We've added it to our A-Z list of databases or click here to access directly.  Searching is straightforward and even allows you to limit by format (text, image, etc.)

You can also learn more about OAIster by reading our blog entry here.

As always, you can always ask a librarian if you need additional help.

Recommended Sites

Public Agenda (http://www.publicagenda.org/)
This politically independent organization provides numerous "issue guides" to give background information, pros and cons, and additional resources to major issues such as gay rights. A number of research studies are also available but require a free registration.

RAND (http://www.rand.org/publications/electronic/)
Access many (particularly 1998 and later) publications by RAND, the well-known non-profit research organization. There are 15 categories from The Arts to U.S. National Security. Both html and pdf file types are present.

Speakout.com (http://www.speakout.com/)
Speakout is a commercial web site that provides information on both sides of issues at hand. Appropriate links for further information are also included. The Activism tools allow one to sign or start their own petition or even join a debate. The only downside to this site it is the advertising which is a necessary evil for many commercial sites.

Statistical Assessment Service (www.stats.org)
A Washington think tank, this site's purpose is to bring reliability to the reporting of statistics, mainly for the benefit of journalists who report these various studies.

Statistics Every Writer Should Know (http://nilesonline.com/stats/)
A commercial site that provides a basic introduction/review to interpreting statistics.

American Communication Association (http://www.americancomm.org/)
ACA is committed to enabling the effective use of new and evolving technologies to facilitate communication instruction, research and criticism, and to offering a technologically supportive venue for all who study the ways in which humans communicate.ACA is committed to enabling the effective use of new and evolving technologies to facilitate communication instruction, research and criticism, and to offering a technologically supportive venue for all who study the ways in which humans communicate.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive (http://tvnews.vanderbilt.edu)
A complete compilation of network news from 08/05/1968.  From their site:  "world's most extensive and complete archive of television news."   Requires brief (free) registration before use.

 

 

 

Meet Your Guide!

Profile ImageKelly Joyce
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Reference and Periodicals Librarian
Duggan Library
812-866-7166
Send Email

What I do in the library:
Interlibrary Loan, Periodicals, Reference, Library Instruction

 

Let Us Know!

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait