Online full-text "Open Access" journals:SFX Database Linking
Hanover links of interest:Visual Searching
Evaluating sourcesPlagiarismResearch terminologyScholary or popular?Tech Tools
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Communication 

Last update: Oct 06th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.hanover.edu/communication  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference Resources             Print Page
  
 

Suggested Reference Titles

This list includes the Duggan Library's core reference titles in the field of Communication. This list is not comprehensive; for more options consult PantherCAT or a reference librarian.

Encyclopedia of Communication and Information
REFC P 87.5.E53 2001

Webster's New World Dictionary of Media and Communications
REFC P 87.5.W45 1996

International Encyclopedia of Communications
REFC P 87.5.I5 1989

History of the Mass Media in the United States : An Encyclopedia
REFC P 92.U5H55 1998

NTC's Mass Media Dictionary
REFC P 87.5.E45 1990

 

 

E-Reference

Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries, searchable by subject or keywords. (EBSCO)

Gale Biography Resource Center
Biographical directories, with newspaper and periodicals.

Oxford English Dictionary
The venerable Oxford English Dictionary full-text online

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Over 45 full-text reference works are included in this online resource.

Oxford Reference Collection
Over 198 full-text reference works included, on a wide variety of subjects.

 

Reference Podcast

Using the Reference Collection instructional screencast
(http://library.hanover.edu/podcasts/reference/referencecast.html)

Watch this screencast to better understand Duggan Library's reference collection and how reference materials can be valuable to your research.

Requires Macromedia Flash Player. 

Time commitment: Four minutes and forty-six seconds.

 

Meet Your Guide!

Profile ImageKelly Joyce
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Reference and Periodicals Librarian
Duggan Library
812-866-7166
Send Email

What I do in the library:
Interlibrary Loan, Periodicals, Reference, Library Instruction

 

Let Us Know!

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait