Hanover links of interest:Visual Searching
Online full-text "Open Access" journals:
Evaluating SourcesPlagiarismResearch terminologyScholarly vs. popularTech Tools
ANTH 259 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Anthropology 

Last update: Oct 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.hanover.edu/anthropology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Websites             Print Page
  
 

OAIster - Search the Deep Web

Google can't find everything!  OAIster (pronounced "oyster") allows you to search the "deep web" to find documents and more that Google misses.  We've added it to our A-Z list of databases or click here to access directly.  Searching is straightforward and even allows you to limit by format (text, image, etc.)

You can also learn more about OAIster by reading our blog entry here.

As always, you can always ask a librarian if you need additional help.

Recommended Sites

Anthro.net Research Engine (http://home1.gte.net/ericjw1/index.html)
A search engine that is designed to specifically search anthropology (and related subjects) sites on the Internet.

Anthromorphemics: Anthropology Glossary (http://anthropology.tamu.edu/glossaries.htm)
Search the glossary or browse by major divisions (archaeology, cultural or physical anthropology)

Anthropological Index Online (http://aio.anthropology.org.uk/aiosearch/)
A free, searchable, bibliographic database based on the journal holdings of the Anthropology Library at the British Museum.

Anthropology Collections (http://research.calacademy.org/research/anthropology/collections/collintro.htm)
From the California Academy of Sciences permanent research collection, the database contains about 17,000 ethnographic records accompanied by 7,000 digital images. Included among the nineteen categories are baskets, weaponry, watercraft, and carvings. Searches can be limited to images.

ARD-the Anthropological Review Database (http://wings.buffalo.edu/ARD/)
ARD is an ever-growing, free, and fully searchable database of reviews covering the entire gamut of anthropological publications.

Ethnologue (http://www.ethnologue.com/)
Considered the standard directory of languages of the world. Includes information and data on more than 6,700 living languages. A bibliography is also a valuable part of this site.

American Museum of Natural History
Links for scientific publications, their Bulletin, Anthropological Papers and Memoirs.

World Wide Web Virtual Library: Indigenous Studies (http://www.cwis.org/wwwvl/indig-vl.html)
Maintained by the Center for World Indigenous Studies, this site provides an impressive collection of links to sites by and about indigeous nations around the world.

British Museum
Search over 1 million items in the collections database at the British Museum.  Links for their online journals and research publications also available on the site.

Explore Ceren
Requires brief software downloads.  Ceren, a small village in El Salvador, buried in ash 14 centuries ago, has been extensively mapped and "offers an...opportunity to study household archaelogy".

Indigenous Peoples
Part of the World Wide Web Virtual Library, this site features extensive links for resources on a variety of indigenous peoples.

Migration Immigration Source
Huge array of statistics and informative articles regarding immigration, refugees and more, from the Migration Policy Institute.

 

Meet Your Guide!

Profile ImageKelly Joyce
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Reference and Periodicals Librarian
Duggan Library
812-866-7166
Send Email

What I do in the library:
Interlibrary Loan, Periodicals, Reference, Library Instruction

 

Let Us Know!

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait