About
Course Guides supplement the departmental guides with information and resources specific to the topics covered in your course. Refer to the departmental guides for additional resources in this subject area.
Other Guides
PantherCAT
Use PantherCAT to locate materials owned by the Duggan Library. Subject searching is most effective when you use standardized Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH).
SFX
![]()
Web page explaining SFX (http://library.hanover.edu/sfx.html)
Find out more about SFX database linking technology and how it can help you become more efficient.
SFX instructional screencast (http://library.hanover.edu/podcasts/sfx/duggansfx.html)
Prefer to watch and listen instead of read? View this brief instructional screencast.
Requires Macromedia Flash Player.
Time commitment: Six minutes and thirteen seconds.
SFX Citation Linker (http://sfx.palni.edu:9003/sfx_ha/cgi/core/citation-linker.cgi)
Already have a citation? Go directly to the linker to see if full text is available in one of our databases.
Suggested Reference Titles
This list includes the Duggan Library's core reference titles in the field of Biology. This list is not comprehensive; for more options consult PantherCAT or a reference librarian.
Frontiers of Life
REFC. QH302.5 .F76 2002
Concise Encyclopedia Biology
REFC. QH 302.5 .A2313 1996
Cambridge Dictionary of Biology
REFC. QH302.5 .C46 1990
The Biological Sciences in the Twentieth Century
REFC. QH305 .B67 1988
Henderson’s Dictionary of Biological Terms
REFC. QH302.5 .H65 1989
The Cambridge Illustrated Dictionary of Natural History
REFC. QH13 .L56 1987
Synopsis and Classification of Living Organisms
REFC. QH83 .S89
Biology Data Book
REFC. QH310 .A392
A Source-book of Biological Names and Terms
REFC. QH83 .J3 1955
E-Reference
Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries, searchable by subject or keywords. (EBSCO)
Oxford Online Reference Collection
Over 195 full-text subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and other qualtiy reference works.
Oxford English Dictionary
The venerable Oxford English Dictionary full-text online
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Over 45 full-text reference works are included in this electronic resource.
Databases
Biology Digest
Non-technical digests in biology, ecology, and health. (FirstSearch)
BioOne
Full-text of bioscience research journals.
EBSCO Animals
Information on the nature and habitat of familiar animals. (EBSCO)
GreenFILE
Scholary and genearl interest journals and goverment reports about environmental issues and related disciplines including agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
JSTOR
Full-text scholarly journal on a wide array of subjects.
Project MUSE
More full-text schoarly journal on many subjects. Includes subject searching.
Search and Table of Contents Alerts
Did you know that many of our online databases offer automatic search and journal table of contents alerts? Using either email or an RSS feed on a blog reader, you can subscribe to new content and be notified whenever new articles matching a search string or from a specific journal title are added to the database. The tutorials below will give you more details about these services, which can save you lots of time.
- Duggan Library Instructional Screencasts: RSS Basics (Flash Movie)
Learn about RSS: what it is, why you want to use it, and how to set up a reader. This tutorial, which is 6 minutes long, also describes the process of adding feeds from the New York Times and EBSCOhost searches. - EBSCO Training: Set up Search and Journal Alerts (Flash Movie)
This tutorial, created by EBSCOhost, describes how to set up email alerts for searches and journal tables of contents in all EBSCO databases. - EBSCO Training: Set up Search and Journal Alerts (download: Powerpoint)
This powerpoint slide presentation compliments the flash movie linked above and can be downloaded and printed for easy reference.
Let Us Know!
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait