Selected Subject Headings
Some suggested subject (subject KEYWORD, not 'subject heading LCSH') terms for HIS 229:
Women
History
Sources
Letters
Memoirs
Diaries
Journal
Personal narratives
Example: subject keyword 'history' + subject keyword 'women' + subject keyword 'personal narratives' = 12 items in PantherCAT.
Substitute subject keyword 'sources' for 'personal narratives' in above example = 47 items in PantherCAT.
Library databases
Early American Imprints
Browse by subjects or genres. These are early American printed materials, 1639-1800.
Early American Newspapers
Historic American paers from 1676-1876.
Gale Biography
Collection of over 300,000 biographical essays.
Print Indexes
Print indexes are located on the south wall (opposite the entrance doors)
Reader's Guide
Index to popular publications from 1900 to Feb. 1983. Sample: under WOMEN suffrage -- United States: "Did they know what they wanted?" M. Adams. il. Outlook. 147:528-30 D 28 '27.
How to read citation:
article title - "Did they know what they wanted?"
author - Adams
illustrated? - yes ('il')
publication - Outlook (if abbreviated, like Ladies H J, there's list at front of volume with full title; Ladies Home Journal)
volume - 147
pages - 528-530
month and date of issue publication - Dec. 28, 1927.
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
Covers time period from 1882 - 1907
Chicago Manual style
Click here to access History Department's guide to Chicago Manual footnotes.
Suggested Reference Titles
This list includes the Duggan Library's core reference titles in the field of Historical Women's Studies. This list is not comprehensive; for more options consult PantherCAT or a reference librarian.
From Suffrage to the Senate: An Encyclopedia of American Women in Politics
REFC HQ 1236.5 U6 S32 1999
Handbook of American Women's History
REFC HQ 1410 H36 1990
Women's Progess in America
REFC HQ 1410 F76 1994
Encyclopedia of American Social History
REFC HN 57 E58 1993
Women's Issues
REFC HQ 1115 W6425 1997
Girlhood in America: An Encyclopedia
REFC HQ 777 G5745 2001
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender
REFC HQ 1115 E43 2001
Encyclopedia of Family Life
REF HQ 534 E53 1999
Almanacs of American Life: Modern America, 1914-1945
REFC E 766 G74 1995
**Do a title search for Almanacs of American Life to locate 3 others in this series, covering different time periods.
Encyclopedia of Southern Culture
REFC F 209 E53 1989
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century
REF E 169.1 E626 2001
Web sites
Ad* Access
Collection of advertisements from journals published between 1911 and 1955. From Duke University
Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
Also from Duke University, containing over 9000 ads. Searchable by products or companies.
History Matters "primary documents in text, image, and audio about the experiences of ordinary Americans throughout U.S. history"
Search engine here.
American Memory
This page allows for topic browsing as well as browsing by date range.
Making of America
19th century books and magazines. "Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction." Browse by subject term available here
World Wide Web Virtual Library
Here's the page specifically for US women's history.
Life Magazine on Google Books
Browse by time period here.
Women Working, 1800-1930
Harvard collection of digitized collection of over 500,00 pages, including diaries, manuscripts, journals and more which "focus[es] on women's role in the United States economy '. You can browse by genre or subject here.
SFX
![]()
Web page explaining SFX (http://library.hanover.edu/sfx.html)
Find out more about SFX database linking technology and how it can help you become more efficient.
SFX instructional screencast (http://library.hanover.edu/podcasts/sfx/duggansfx.html)
Prefer to watch and listen instead of read? View this brief instructional screencast.
Requires Macromedia Flash Player.
Time commitment: Six minutes and thirteen seconds.
SFX Citation Linker (http://sfx.palni.edu:9003/sfx_ha/cgi/core/citation-linker.cgi)
Already have a citation? Go directly to the linker to see if full text is available in one of our databases.
Meet Your Guide! |
Links: Profile & Guides What I do in the library:: Interlibrary Loan, Periodicals, Reference, Library Instruction |
Let Us Know!
Related LibGuide
You may also be interested in the History, Research Methods and/or Women's Studies LibGuides.



Loading...
